Congratulations to Cohort 58, who just closed out the fourth year of the Denver Peak Academy for us on December 16, 2016. We had a total of 18 individuals representing nine different agencies: Community Planning & Development, Denver Human Services, Denver International Airport, Denver Public Library, Department of Environmental Health, Department of Finance, Parks & Recreation, Public Works, and Technology Services.

As the liaison for this cohort, it was a privilege to be able to spend time with the group for an entire week. Teaching black belt is something that my team looks forward to each month and it has a great way of reminding us why we do what we do, which is to help make Denver one of the best in the country by fostering innovation and making positive changes, one person at a time.

Some of the highlights of the week are as follows:

  • Gemba walks with the Denver Public Library, Public Health Inspections and Parks & Recreation where we learned how to respectfully observe someone else’s process, make a process map and apply gap analysis tools.
  • Lieutenant Robert Rock’s Bright Spot presentation about his journey as a black belt graduate and some of the innovations he’s been working on in the Traffic Investigations Unit.
  • Field trip to the parking cashier and the Peak team’s office.
  • Flower Power game that simulated the process of growing and planting flowers here at the City of Denver.
  • 18 amazing Ignite presentations.

Here are some pictures from the week:

Lieutenant Robert Rock showing us his Peak Academy “warning”. We absolutely loved this!
Team 1 duriing the Flower Power simulation. From left: Lisa Champion, Rod Picasarri, Richard Pruckler, Katie Holbrook, Derek Moretz, Jose Palma and Taryn Davids.
Team 2 during the Flower Power simulation. From left: Pennie Billing, Dennis Giron, Adam Phipps, Taryn Davids, Sam Eaton, Jose Palma, Kris Wilson, Janet Sutton and Martin Flanigan.
Dennis Giron from Parks and Recreation during his Ignite presentation.
Cohort 58 group photo. Top (from left): Richard Pruckler, Andy Rees, Kris Wilson, Taryn Davids, Martin Flanigan, Jose Palma, Pennie Billing, Rod Picasarri, Janet Sutton, Lisa Champion, Eugene Howard, Adam Phipps, Derek Mortez, Katie Holbrook, Robert Peek and Drew Brown. Bottom (from left): Sam Eaton, Laura Swartz, Jenny Inglish, Emily Gloeckner and Brian Elms.

Again, congratulations to Mt. Yale Peak!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s